Finding ‘Sanctuary’ in Koh Lanta?

Onto the final leg of my trip. Following all the excitement, exertion and 10 bed dorm rooms, the final destination in Thailand was always going to be the beach, the sunshine, solitude and some serious rest and recuperation. Well hello there Koh Lanta.

Situated to the south of Krabi, I bypassed Koh Phi Phi (party isle where The Beach was filmed – looks like I’m going to have to find Leo on another trip!) and headed directly to Koh Lanta. Although, popular with French, German and Swede package holiday makers (and their families!), Koh Lanta was billed as a laid back island, with great beaches and amenities, yet, somewhere you can escape the tourist hordes and claim your own bit of Thai delight.

I had heard mixed reports about the isle – one of my fellow travellers started her Thai adventure here with a month volunteering. She suggested I stayed in the north next to the main town – Sala Dan, so I wouldn’t be eating alone in restaurants (apparently high season doesn’t kick off here until January). I was also told by someone who’d just returned from Koh Lanta not to stay at Hat Klong Khong – the travellers main haunt. Decisions, decisions – life on the road isn’t always easy 😉

In the end, I was seduced by a pool, a massive room (I got a free upgrade), air con and fridge up near the town – all for the priestly sum of £20 a night, I thought it was time to blow my budget!

20151110-105142.jpg
It was £60 well spent and following my three days of feeling spoilt rotten with the finer things in life, I even had wine in a restaurant, my batteries were recharged and I was ready to hit the road.

My initial plan was to head down to Trang and visit some of the islands near there, but given I hadn’t sampled Koh Lanta’s beaches I decided it was time to stay put – sometimes the joy of travelling is not moving and just experiencing the here and now.

Lonely Planet guide ever at the ready, I liked the sound of ‘Sanctuary’ situated on Long Beach.

20151110-110325.jpg
Traditional huts based on the beach, with a laid back hippy-ish feel, not only did it run yoga sessions, but it had outdoor bathrooms and every hut had its own hammock – how quaint.

20151110-110637.jpg Here’s the Wendy House for the next five days.

20151110-110818.jpg

20151110-110853.jpg
And, check out the shower!

20151110-110952.jpg
Meters away, the Bongo bar with a large and tasty selection of cocktails.

20151110-111113.jpg
The beach was pretty special too, shrouded with purple blooms and littered with white fossils, pebbles and shells.

20151110-111334.jpg

20151110-111359.jpg

20151110-111422.jpg

20151110-111450.jpg
And, the piece de resistance… The sunsets were truly out of this world!

20151110-111623.jpg
So, day four out of a five day stay – have I found my sanctuary in Koh Lanta? As I lounge, evidence below, in my hammock I contemplate this very question…

20151110-111900.jpg
Sanctuary in Koh Lanta really should have been a three not five day stay – as romantic as the beach hut and bamboo shower was, I can’t wait to get back to civilisation; to wash my face under a tap that more that trickles, to go the loo without dodging beetles and things that fly, to take a hot shower and disinfect my mosquito ravaged body and sleep soundly to the gentle purr of air con – you can take the girl out of the city, but not the city out the girl! X

BTW: despite all my good intentions, I never once attended a yoga session – although this morning I did get up in time to watch them 😉

Leave a comment