A brief stop off in Copenhagen

I’m on my way. After leaving Newcastle yesterday evening I arrived in Copenhagen, at about about ten o’clock, unscathed. It was all a bit surreal embarking on this travelling malarkey again after my few months off, but it felt good. However, I quickly realised that you soon get out of the habit and no matter how well prepared you may feel, there is always something that crops up. My first faux pas was currency. A trip to the post office to pick up some dollars (my just in case money), some rubles and euros and I was convinced all bases were covered, that is until I realised that Denmark don’t do euros! Luckily a currency exchange was in the bag collection area, so disaster one was averted.

Following a good nights sleep and a quick, yet expensive taxi ride to the airport; my £50 converted to euros, to kronas, managed to cover two 10 minute journeys (this being said I do have a range of coins in my purse, but despite how pretty they look with the little hole drilled in the middle, I don’t think I have sufficient to buy a coffee!). I’m now in situ in terminal 3, gate D101 and have a good hour downtime before my flight departs.

The airport itself is pretty funky, modern and arty – I especially liked the water feature that look like a flower and they have sculptures of folks looking over balconies – cool.

I think I have some notion of a plan when I arrive in Moscow. Unfortunately I did not get organised in time to arrange a transfer (I know, I had such a busy summer doing nothing) so it looks like it’s an aeroexpress and taxi to get me into the centre; wish me luck. The lady who checked in my bag also warned me that the military have a heavy presence at the airport and are very ‘strict’, note to self ‘no jokes Wendy’. But, I ‘should’ be ok as I have a visa! This is going to be quite an experience I think.

So, my first blog, of no doubt many to come, is completed. Hopefully, my next will be filled with lots of great pictures and rambles about my welcome to Russia. More later…

Pretty coins…

20130914-115413.jpg
The airport…

20130914-115521.jpg

Leave a comment