The lost city of the Incas

This is going to be a short, but hopefully deliciously sweet post. Machu Picchu needs little introduction; the lost city of the incas – built in 1450 yet abandoned in 1572 when the Spanish were hot on the inca’s tails. For nearly 350 years the city lay dormant, hidden amidst the landscape. Known to locals, it was not until 1911 when the American explorer Hiram Bingham happened to be shown the site by a local boy that it was awarded the international attention it deserved.

Since then it has been swathed in tourists, all wanting their piece of the beauty, and to some, the mysticism that is Machu Picchu. Yep, I was one of those tourists. One of my my few regrets on my trip was that I did not partake in the travellers ‘obligatory’ four day trek to see Machu Picchu. I know I’m not one for trekking, but arriving on bus, as atmospheric as it was, combined with a 15 minute walk uphill and voila, there it was. It seemed as if I was on a school trip and I had some how cheated it by not taking the paths that the inca did to arrive there… That being said, it is a sight to behold and how lucky am I to even cast eyes on the marvel?

20130310-220323.jpg

20130310-220352.jpg

20130310-220431.jpg

20130310-220539.jpg

20130310-220622.jpg

20130310-220700.jpg

20130310-220727.jpg

2 thoughts on “The lost city of the Incas

  1. So glad you enjoyed your trip so much! And there are actually several different ways to get to Machu Picchu, one of them being the commercial Inca Trail, which can become quite crowded with tourists. I recommend the Inca Jungle Trek to Machu Picchu, which is also 4 days, but much less crowded and absolutely breathtaking! Thanks for sharing your experience of Machu Picchu! ~Daphne

    • Hey Daphne, thanks for your comment and advice, if only I known that a fortnight ago 🙂 regardless, it was pretty spectacular; a bit like the whole of south America! I am going to return to England with some treasured memories. Wendy:-)

Leave a comment