The Island of the Sun

Up bright and early, a delightful breakfast consumed including pancakes and eggs; a rare treat let me tell you, it was dropped off at pier ready for my boat trip. I had heard lots about this place, it’s the inca birthplace of the sun in inca mythology and where the bearded god Viracocha and the first incas, Manco Ocllo and his sister Mama Ocllo made their debut (yep, I copied that straight out of lonely planet!)

It was a pretty miserable morning, a couple of hours on the boat and I was not hopeful of much sun on this apparent sun isle. However, as we neared island, the sun put his hat on. We disembarked at the second stop and I quickly latched on to some English speaking folks as I did not know where we we going or what we were doing; how very dare the guides speak in spanish 😉 the gals I met were Denise and Zoe. Zoe had as great a command of the Spanish as me, but luckily Denise was fluent in Spanish. So off we went on our wee trek to see some ruins and view the loveliness that is Isla de Sol.

20130306-205814.jpg

20130306-205849.jpg

20130306-210009.jpg
The island had a distinctive hippy feel, with many travellers camping on the beach and selling their goods and entertainment. There was also a rasta Donkey!

20130306-210158.jpg
We trekked up to rock, where the inca creation legend begun. Given the guide spoke in Spanish I don’t know too much about the legend, but we all had to touch the stone and feel some positive energy.

20130306-210425.jpg
Maybe Zoe and Denise were energised by this as they decided on a three hour trek across the island. I, on the other hand, ambled back down to the boat, perched myself on the top deck and enjoyed sailing out to sea 🙂

20130306-210636.jpg

Leave a comment