Lake Titicaca

My last stop in Bolivia was Copacabana, a small tourist haven nestled on the southern banks of lake titicaca. Let me share my limited knowledge about the lake; it’s huge!!!! It’s considered the largest high altitude lake in the world sitting at an elevation of 3808m, it covers 8400 sq km and divides Bolivia from its neighbour Peru.

I was glad to say the trip from la Paz to copacabana did not involve a night bus, we departed early morning and arrived early afternoon. I spent my journey listening to my peapod, some jazz tunes perfectly complimented the views.

20130306-200941.jpg

20130306-201007.jpg
We had a couple of stop offs, at one point I was chilling watching the world go by when I noticed the rest of the folks from my bus were all boarding a boat… Mmm, if only I understood Spanish! Bizarrely, we were carried over in a boat, as too the bus.

20130306-201214.jpg
We arrived at the port which was cute and awash with swan peddler boats, there was even a Donald duck one, although I never did get back and take the pix of it.

20130306-201914.jpg
There were also some ladies with their llamas all dressed up in carnival gear.

20130306-202034.jpg
I have found myself to be a lazy traveller, opting when I first arrive in a new place to automatically take a taxi. I had consulted my lonely planet and sussed out that my hotel was relatively near the plaza, no taxi required 🙂 however, I over played my map reading abilities and Mmm, about 40 minutes later I arrived at my hotel – it was actually just five mins from where I was dropped off, albeit uphill. No worries, I was still feeling a wee bit smug and no one needed to know how foolhardy I’d been 😉
Given I was still in Bolivia, I was splashing the cash, yep another single room for me all for a £10 a night! Obviously, the hotel was never going to reach the luxury of my la Paz boutique hotel, but the view was pretty.

20130306-202759.jpg
Unbeknownst to me, Viv and Dave, an Irish couple who I had meet on my 4×4 adventure were staying just across the balcony from me. They had extended their stop here and a dinner invitation was greatly received. We met up with some other Irish travellers; Irene and Myles and an evening of great food and great craic was on the cards.

20130306-203228.jpg
Well that was me fed and watered. An early night was on the cards pre boat trip to Isla del Sol.

Leave a comment