Where is my rain mac?

From the madness of Rio, I had heard that Ilha Grande was a chilled, laid out island with gorgeous beaches and tropical forests covering the hill sides – I was looking forward to a bit of tranquility.

It was raining when I left Rio and a three hour south westerly bus ride and it was still raining. I arrived at a port and waited about half an hour (yep, in the rain), to board the boat and sail across to Abraao. It was a relatively smooth crossing, however, as we neared our destination the island looked really eery, the condensation seeping from the forests gave it a kind of ‘journey to the centre of the earth’ feel.

20130112-125715.jpg

20130112-125806.jpg
As we approached the isle, it started thundering and lightening. I ferociously searched in my day pack for my mac and then realised I had put it in my ruck sack – doh! Mind to be honest, what use a mac would have done in the torrential rain is anyone’s guess. My stop was the last one and I was greeted by what looked like a mass exodus from the island, hundreds of people were wrapped in green towels waiting to escape. Getting off the boat was very scary, but I put my nose to the ground and stomped through the roads which had turned into rivers, wheeling my ruck sack, day sack strapped to back and two other bags slung across me. Before long, although it seemed like an eternity, I reached my hostel; Biergarten (wonder why I choose this one, lol!) and was greeted with a warm welcome and a dry towel. Got to the room and realised that most of the contents in my bags were drenched; why did no-one suggest I get a waterproof cover – Sue? πŸ˜‰

Regardless, arrived safely if soaked. A fellow traveller, Grant from Sydney, arrived in a similar state, so there was only one thing for it, some beers and dinner. Before long, the wet and sodden journey seemed like a distant memory and I began to take In my surroundings. What a cool hostel, I’ll be delirious if the majority of them on this trip are as cool as this!

20130112-131458.jpg

20130112-131543.jpg

20130112-131621.jpg

2 thoughts on “Where is my rain mac?

  1. hi wendy trust you are fine hope you are not getting to much sun shine only jealous haha Well not much going on here went into ashington yesterday and picked up my trousers thern into morpeth andf marks and spencer bought my self a new top quite smart and dressy weather not to bad roads are much better but dont know how long it will last no blog yesterday so i suspect you are travelling or tired got text todaay from some one called bazzo will leave for jacky to sort .Take good care await to hear from you love mam and dad xxxx

    Date: Sat, 12 Jan 2013 15:18:50 +0000 To: mrmrsrutherford@hotmail.co.uk

Leave a comment